Honoring a noteworthy, determined group of students, Estrellita High School celebrated the graduation of its seniors June 3 with family, staff and the Galt Joint Union High School District Board all present for the momentous evening.

Estrellita Principal Robert Lemmon opened the night by welcoming graduates and their families and by expressing appreciation for the work that had gone into the past school year on everyone’s part.

“Every success comes with the opportunity to understand who and what helped you to get to where you are. When success occurs, look out the window to acknowledge those that helped get it done,” Lemmon told graduates. Lemmon also applauded students and staff for their ability to reach the graduation stage after going through the hurdles of the COVID-19 pandemic, including distance learning.

In the first of three awards presented during the ceremony, Deborah Loiselle recognized Oscar Ramos for a standout math project and “persevering through chemistry” as well as inspiring his classmates.

Noting that every graduate seemed to fit the definition of grit this year, Phil Petersen spotlighted the efforts of Izak Lopez, who accepted the GRIT Award.

Clark Carter recognized Tanner Dickison with the Academic Staff Award, thanks to Dickison’s assertiveness with asking questions, if needed, during class and stepping out of his comfort zone as well.

Lemmon noted that Dickison will receive a college scholarship as a result of winning the Academic Staff Award. Dickison shared his thoughts on the past year during his graduation speech.

“I would like to applaud all the graduates for their hard work this past year. I would like to thank the staff at Estrellita for their hard work, this year especially. They did all they could to make sure we could succeed, to make sure I could succeed. I am immensely thankful that I was able to spend the latter half of my high school years here. To the graduates, we’re all proud of you. I wish you luck in your future endeavors,” Dickison said.

The graduating Eagles include Yakelynne Diaz, Dickison, Ronald David Dufour, Michael Harriman, Sebastian Jamito, Lopez, Rosalinda Marie Mercado, Victoria Milligan, Anthony Seplulveda Padilla, Gabriel Perez, Michell Pineda, Ramos, Rianna Salada, Denise Sandoval, Jose Torres-Aquino, Mark Vivar, Bryant Lomeli and Emmalyn Peper.