June 7, 1940

Don Eugene Stevens of Galt was among the 474 graduates of Johns Hopkins University who received degrees at the annual commencement exercises. The degree of Bachelor of Arts was conferred upon him. He is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, and a son of Mrs. Frank Carpenter. He graduated from Galt schools.

Wednesday 36 friends gathered at the Alta Mesa hall to honor Mrs. Glenn McFarland with a shower. Mrs. George Jernigan acted as hostess. The tables were decorated in pink and blue where delicious refreshments were served.

June 9, 1950

Sacramento County voters went to the polls in large numbers Tuesday, and among those they voted for was Clifford May of Galt to the position of Justice of the Peace of Lee Township.

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Johnson of Galt are the proud parents of a little boy named Alan Dale. He weighed 7 pounds 4 ounces at birth and was born at the Buchanan Hospital in Lodi. Dr. Vernon E. Greer was the attending physician.

June 9, 1960

Raymond M. (Mickey) Airone, son of Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Airone of Galt, has been nominated valedictorian of the class of 1960 of Galt High School. He is among 81 seniors scheduled to receive diplomas Thursday, June 9.

Miss Lois June Schauer became the bride of James W. Offield in ceremonies held May 28 at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church, Galt. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Albert Schauer of Galt and he is the son of Mrs. Pete Duper of Sacramento and James Offield of San Francisco.

June 11, 1970

Awards presented during graduation exercises at Galt Elementary School June 4 went to: John Williams, math, current events; Myla Lander, spelling, citizenship; Gayle Kedder, creative writing; Jenny Hausauer, creative poetry; Craig Headley, music scholarship; Carol Mott, Alex Brown award; Eddie Gross, citizenship; and Diana Miller, music scholarship.

June 12, 1980

Georgia Weakley was the recipient of the Citizenship Trophy, Bill Johnson received the Audrey O. Reed award and Sherry Azevedo was the recipient of the Louie Listini Memorial award at graduation exercises held at the Warrior Stadium.

Kenny Johnson and Caroline Van Warmerdam were crowned boy and girl athletes of the year at an awards assembly for seniors.

Gene Anderson was installed as 1980-81 Lions Club president along with three vice presidents, Floyd Alexander, Mike Sonnenberg and Tom Payne.