Jan. 26, 1940

The Happy Eight Club of Galt met last Tuesday afternoon at the home of Mrs. Mamie Engel, at which time two members of the club were honored on their birthdays: Mrs. Nellie Peterson and Mrs. Lena Mellon. Whist was the afternoon diversion. Those present besides the aforementioned were Mrs. Madge Shellenbarger, Mrs. Isabel Marengo, Mrs. William Carr, Mrs. Lex Smith and Mrs. Ida McKinstry.

Mr. Laurence Littleton was chosen by the Galt High School seniors as the person to whom the annual should be dedicated. He has increased the size of the band 2½ times.

Jan. 27, 1950

The members of the Okihi Camp Fire Girls met last Saturday morning and elected officers for the new year: President Frances Littleton, Vice President Janice Vossler, Secretary Joan Vossler, Treasurer Penn Hepper and Scribe Donna Pearson.

Charles Marshall was installed as Grand Master of Galt Masonic Lodge last Wednesday night.

Jan. 21, 1960

With the Lodi Junior Chamber of Commerce as sponsoring group, the new Galt Junior Chamber of Commerce received its charter during ceremonies held Saturday night in the Valley Oaks Grange Hall. Wayne Patterson is the president, and there are 37 members.

A 45-site trailer court, Mobile Homes Estates, opened this week on the frontage road north of Pringle Avenue, Lloyd Johnson, contractor and manager, announced this week.

Jan. 29, 1970

Two new members of the board of directors of the Galt Chamber of Commerce were announced this week. A.J. “Bud” O’Hara was appointed to the position held by Herman LaVine, and Roy Herburger has a post formerly held by Ben Salas.

The San Joaquin County honor band has named nine Galt Elementary band members to the honor band: Craig Headley, Tracy Talcott, Kay Shelley, Ellen Smith, Dan Tarnasky, Ricky Steiner, Deloni Masters, Diana Miller and Kelley McClellan.