Incumbents Gil Albiani, Orlando Fuentes and Jim Luttrell were re-elected without opposition to the Cosumnes Community Services District (CSD) board on Nov. 3.

The CSD board governs the Cosumnes Fire Department, as well as Elk Grove’s parks and recreation system.

This year marked the first CSD board election to have the new “by-district” election system. Voters only choose among candidates who are running in their local CSD Division area. CSD directors were previously elected by voters across the 157-square-mile district that includes Elk Grove and Galt.

Proponents argued that the by-district system would enable more people to run for the CSD board since campaigning could be cheaper and would focus on smaller areas.

After this November election, each CSD director will represent a CSD Division area. Albiani, Luttrell and Fuentes will respectively represent CSD Divisions 1, 3 and 4. The other directors Jaclyn Moreno and Rod Brewer were elected to the board in 2018. Moreno will represent CSD Division 2 and Brewer will be the CSD Division 5 director.

The CSD board approved the new CSD Division map last year and its boundaries were drawn to have roughly equal populations of voters, based on the 2010 census data. For example, CSD Division 1 includes Elk Grove’s rural Sheldon area and the city of Galt. There are plans to redraw the boundaries after the 2020 census data is released.

For a map of the CSD Divisions, visit the district’s website,