The nomination period for Sacramento County’s elections officially ended Aug. 12 and Galt area residents will vote in just three local races. Other potential races were finalized through the nomination process where those wishing to serve on those boards did not exceed the number of open seats.

Those races include Herald Fire Protection District whose four incumbents, Dennis Johnson, Lindsey Liebig, Heidi Braziel and George Obi will retain their seats; Cosumnes Community Services District incumbents, Gil Albiani (who represents the Galt area), Jim Luttrell and Orlando Fuentes ran unopposed and retain their seats; incumbents Ann Ullrich and Tammi Van Houten will continue to serve on the Oak View Elementary board; and both City Treasurer Shaun Farrell and City Clerk Tina Hubert will retain their seats.

Galt City Council

Galt residents Jay Vandenburg, Kami Martin, Keith Jones, Randy Morton and Kevin Papineau have thrown their hats into the ring to vie for one of two seats on Galt City Council. Neither incumbents Paige Lampson nor Curt Campion chose to seek reelection.

Jones and Papineau currently serve on the Galt Planning Commission and Martin serves on the Measure R Oversight Committee.

Galt Joint Union Elementary School District Board

New comers Traci Skinner, Casey Raboy and Jared Brian Gaynor will vie for two open seats on the Galt Joint Union Elementary School District Board. Neither incumbent John Gordon nor Matthew Felix chose to seek reelection.

Galt Joint Union High School District Board

Galt Joint Union High School District’s two incumbents have filed to retain their seats and will face challenger Pat Maple in the November election.