The Sac-Joaquin Section Feb. 4 named T.J. Ewing (Monterey Trail), Patti Harris (Hilmar), Daryn Glasgow (Bear River), Scott Savoie (Bear River), Rob Steves (Gregori) and MaryAnn Tolbert (Manteca) as the recipients of the 2019-20 Sac-Joaquin Section Model Coach Award. This year’s six winners represent five different high schools, five leagues, four of the seven divisions and both halves of the Section. Glasgow and Savoie are the third and fourth coaches from Bear River High to receive this award. Ewing (Monterey Trail) and Harris (Hilmar) are the second coaches to receive this honor from their respective schools. For the other two schools – Gregori and Manteca – this is their first such honoree. To date, 116 coaches have been honored from 73 different schools. The award, honoring coaches who are positive role models within our schools and the community at large, is being given for the 19th year. Each of the six model coaches will receive a plaque and a lifetime Sac-Joaquin Section pass at an awards breakfast on Tuesday, April 21 in Lodi.

Each member school in the Sac-Joaquin Section can nominate one male and one female coach from its staff. Those names then went to the leagues, and each league was then directed to select one male and one female coach and send those names to the Section office for consideration.