Photo courtesy of NFF

Finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which was won in 2019 by then Oregon quarterback Justin Herbert, will be released Thursday.

The 12 finalists for the 2020 William V. Campbell Trophy for college football will be announced Thursday, according to a Nov. 10 press release by the National Football Foundation.

The award recognizes an individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. Each of the 12 finalists will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2020 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. One of the finalists will be named the winner of The William V. Campbell Trophy later this year, and his postgraduate scholarship will be increased to $25,000.

The 12 finalists will be selected from the record 199 semifinalists from all divisions of play, who were nominated by their schools in 2020 as the best all-around student-athletes on their respective teams. Candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Semifinalists include Jet Toner of Stanford, Jack Snyder of San Jose State and Erik Krommenhoek of Southern California.

This year will mark the 62nd year of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, which began in 1959, and the 31st year of the Campbell Trophy, which was added to the program in 1990.